8. On the wordings and chapters of the Qur’an…..?

The Qur’an consists of 114 chapters. A chapter is called a Surah.
Each chapter has been given a different name. The first wordings of
certain chapters have been used to name the chapter itself. Other surahs
derive their name from a particular reference somewhere in its middle
portion. There are yet other surahs which are named after the main
theme therein. Some other surahs have names which highlight the
basic issues discussed in them.
There is also much difference in the size of each surah. Indeed,
there are surahs which vary in length from three small verses to lengthy
surahs which have nearly three hundred.
Each verse of the surahs is called an aayath. In the length of
the aayaths, too, there exists much disparity. The aayaths range from
very short ones, which comprise a combination of a few sounds, to
very lengthy ones indeed. Many aayaths are in themselves complete
words. Then there are other aayaths which form full sentences only if
put together. Similarly, there are aayaths which are a combination of
complete words. The structure and length of the aayaths have all
been decided by God Almighty Himself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *